I’m a big fan of Rev Run’s “Words of Wisdom.” Both the Twitter version and the daily email updates from his bro’s Global Grind, which are a little less TWenTyFIrSt CenTuRY if you know what I mean. It’s usually one of the first things I check on my bberry when I wake up right after the weather and I have a couple of them hanging out in my wallet when I need a little reminder what’s what.

The other day Run was talking about “the narrow path.” As in the narrow path referred to in Matthew 7:13. In general, Matthew chapter 7 pretty much rules. There are all sorts of famous, timeless verses in there that remind us who Jesus really is (Matthew 7:1 for instance: “Stop judging others, and you will not be judged. For others will treat you as you treat them.” or Matthew 7:7-8: “Keep on asking, and you will be given what you ask for. Keep on looking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened. For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And the door is opened to everyone who knocks.”). And I was glad Run pointed my attention in that direction again.

But back to the narrow path. Run’s Words of Wisdom were:

Good morning. The scripture says.. “Narrow is the path that we must walk.”
(What does this mean?) You’ll always have to squeeze through a narrow path in life in order to get through to a happy place. Sometimes its budgeting when everyone else is splurging. Going to the gym when they’re going to the movies. Going to church regularly, eating less, etc. But those who insist that they’ll stay on this wide spacious path. The scripture declares that this path will lead to destruction. So discipline yourself today, find your NARROW PATH and focus.

P.S. Your happiness depends on it!

What the narrow path refers to (from my understanding) is Jesus as he straight up said in John 14:6: “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me.” The narrow path to heaven is choosing to follow Jesus versus all of the other millions of other options out there. It’s that simple. But Run’s commentary points out that we can do more than just sit back and rest on our laurels knowing that our spot in heaven is all set once we’ve said “I love you” to Jesus.

So with that in mind I decided to narrow my path a little bit more and actually do the things I always say I’m going to do on a regular basis. Since I was working from home today, I actually had a little more time than usual to get things done. So I did what I do every time I’m taking a sick day/staycation/work-from-home day and ran errands for new kitty litter, cereal, Rice Dream icecream (mmm), and my new favorite flu meds (tastes like sugar, works like magic), then cleaned the kitchen, took out the trash and recyclables, and swept the whole apartment. But this time I left notes behind me reminding me to do all of these things every Wednesday night and Saturday morning and marked my kitchen calendar with my new cleaning days, exercise days, etc. Slowly but surely I’m working it all in.

And how’s this relate to the narrow path? With all this work out of the way and running on a smooth schedule, I can focus on the things that really matter. Like seeing my friends, calling my moms, making my dreams come true, and getting eight hours of sleep even when it always seemed impossible! (That and I feel super accomplished. Thanks, Run! You were right! I am happy!)

So that’s the goal, folks. Let’s see if I can stick to it!

