macrogreensI stopped by my favorite nutrition store in NYC this morning to grab some Enzymedica Digest Gold for a friend (more on why I’ve learned to love enzymes later) and scope out the green smoothies/powders situation. I originally planned on grabbing another bottle of Renew Life’s Liquid Greens, which I was using in May and was a big fan of. But they didn’t have it. So one of the nutritionists on staff pointed me to their green powders, where I spent a full 10 minutes or so meticulously reading the labels of almost every bottle, fascinated by how amazing some of these little powders are.

There are two products that really stood out to me and admittedly had me feeling the kind of retail lust that only Cynthia Steffe dresses had previously been able to inspire. The first is Vibrant Health’s Green Vibrance, which is so full of super foods, antioxidants, adaptogens, etc that it deserves a blog entry of its own. I fully intend to try this product, but decided to wait until next month since I already take some of its ingredients in supplement form. The second product is MacroLife Natural’s Macro Greens (pictured above), which I did walk away with today.

From what I can tell with my limited nutrition knowledge, Macro Greens is an intense, super healthy powder product so packed with nutrients that you could probably live off of this little sucker. One table spoon serving packs a punch of super foods (barley grass, spirulina, chlorella, spinach), probiotics (8.5 billion to be exact), antioxidants (Vitamin E, Grape Seed, and Ginko Biloba, Acerola berry, bioflavonoids, milk thistle, green tea), adaptogenic and metabolic herbs (rasberry, parsley, ginger, royal jelly, licorice root, eleuthero root, astralagus, echinachea, and more), natural fibers (lecithin, apple pectin, apple fiber, flax seed meal), what they call “harmonizing and support herbs” (yucca, watercress, carrot juice powder, beet juice powder, cactus powder, and aloe vera), along with 200mg of natural plant enzymes protease, lipase, amylse, and cellulose. So basically it’s amazing.

I had my first glass today, just mixing in one tablespoon with a glass of water. It tasted like green tea and was super easy to drink. Tomorrow I’m going to try it with carrot juice or apple juice and see how I like it. The possibilities are endless, and my body is totally going to thank me for it!

Why it’s Healthy: Green leafy vegetables such as spinach, barley grass, spirulina, and chlorella belong to the “superfoods” class of edibles, meaning these foods pack an especially strong punch of vitamins and minerals. Added into our daily diets, they’ve been proven to lower cholesterol and reduce the risk of heart attack as well as stimulate our immune system’s killer cells to ward off cancer and other illnesses. Some studies have also shown that chlorella plays a major role in reversing injuries to our nervous system. Products such as Macro Greens provide a high concentration of these vitamins and minerals that the average person does not get in their own daily diets. In addition, it includes antioxidants, probiotics, and echinacea to keep the immune system strong.

The Product: Macro Greens

Cost: about $43.00

How Many Servings: 30 servings

Where to Buy:

Order Online at http://www.macrolifenaturals.com 0r find it at your local Whole Foods or wellness store.

