For the past week and a half, I’ve been dealing with one of my biggest fears: bed bugs. Put simply, bed bugs are a nightmare and something that can apparently happen to anyone at anytime (ours, we believe, came from a friend’s suitcase… bed bugs love to hitch a ride when you’re traveling apparently). Having Lyme disease, I’m not one to entertain insects, so I’m doing all I can to get rid of these parasites from my apartment ASAP. So far I’ve lost most of my furniture (and will most likely throw the rest out tonight), spent $130.00 on laundry plus what is shaping up to be $400.00 on dry cleaning, and lost a week’s worth of sleep. But that’s not even scratching the surface of what it takes to go toe to toe with these evil little things.

It’d be safe to say that I haven’t dealt with this situation with as much grace under pressure as I’d like, but last night I realized that if there’s one thing I can take from this, it’s how to deal with real stress in the best way possible. They may have won the battle for my things (bye bye cute throw pillows), but hopefully I can improve my character a bit through this and win the war. And I do plan on winning the war 😉

So I’m going to be bugging out for the next week and sharing all the bed bug eradication tips I’ve learned. Knowledge is power, y’all.

Link of the day: www.bedbugger.com

