The last two days have been a constant reminder that God is bigger and better than I could ever imagine. I thought I was facing certain financial ruin with this bed bug situation. And the prospect of having to leave New York was seriously looming large since moving again after moving only three months ago and then spending 2k on this extermination mess (why did I ever leave 11218?) would seriously wipe me out. But as he tends to do when the going gets tough, God has pulled everything together and created an amazing situation out of a nightmare.

– Steph and I got an amazing floor-through apartment on the third floor of a huge Victorian house in Ditmas Park. This is a beautiful apartment, and exactly what I’ve been daydreaming about since moving to New York. We are only two blocks from the Flatbush Food Coop, Picket Fence, The Farm on Adderly, Vox Pop, and more. We have trees and grass and beautiful sky and all of the great things that come with living in South Brooklyn. One of my best friends said that I’ll be “back where I belong,” and I couldn’t agree more. I wish I could move in tonight.

– With the help of friends and family, we’ve been able to scrape together enough money to be able to move into this super nice apartment in a great neighborhood.  AND I received a super generous offer this morning from a coworker who is putting me in touch with a lawyer to help me get back my security deposit and the extermination fees – which could then help us purchase new beds or start building our savings accounts back up since we drained them on fixing what we were told was a “manageable situation”.

– We’ve had AMAZING food on the table. While I haven’t been eating *quite* as well as I normally like to do, we’ve still been able to eat pretty darn well considering the fact that our wallets are drained and our stove is covered in black plastic bags full of clean clothes and other “valuables.” As I type, I’m munching on a fresh cucumber with Tribe Roasted Garlic Hummus and a roasted turkey sandwich (Applegate Farms) with Organic Girl romaine and my favorite French Meadow Spelt Bread. We may be sleeping on the floor, but we are not eating McDonald’s. And for that, I’m thankful.

– In spite of all this stress and drama, I’m feeling pretty good. This is a BIG advancement in my life with Lyme. Normally, it would take much less stress to send me into a tailspin of symptoms. I can feel a little bit of a toll on my health (upset stomach, headaches, anxiety), but nothing compared to what I felt in my worst moments with Lyme and nothing compared to what I’ve experienced in tough times before.  I can’t even begin to say how thankful I am for this.

Grateful for: all of the above, plus some!
Article of the Day: What Trees Give Us and How We Can Give Back [AC360*] (hug a tree.)

