I had a late breakfast once again today – mostly because I got a super late start. I worked until 9 PM last night (the old Kim was back, and for some reason I was feeling super productive at work) and then went to a friend’s party that he was DJing for the magazine he works at. I told myself I wasn’t going to do so much of that anymore, but he was very excited about this party and he ended up talking me into dancing to electronic music. Which I *kind of* got the hang of ;). But the party was up in Williamsburg, so I had to take the L train into Union Square and grab the Q train there – which meant I didn’t get home until 2 AM. By the time I showered (I like to shower at night so I’m all fresh and clean when I hit the hay), dried my hair, and had a short bed bug freakout (“what if we have them again?!”) it was 3 AM. Waaaay past my 11 PM bedtime.

So I was half an hour late to physical therapy today (oops), but it ended up being an awesome session. My massage therapist totally kicked my butt. I had no idea just how bad my upper back and neck were from moving, but I had to grit my teeth at times just to get through it. Then she put me in the gym, and I did three rounds of each of my stretches – the doorway stretch, chin tucks, a bunch of stretch with the rubber bandy things to open up my back, and then the basic neck stretches. I really should find out their names. But all that to say, my neck and shoulders were extremely sore, but after everything they felt really stretched out. So hopefully I’ll be reaping the benefits tomorrow. I feel like I’ve made a ton of progress since I first started physical therapy in April as part of my last phase of Lyme treatment. I was skeptical at first, but now I think everyone should have physical therapy three times a week. I never knew I could feel so good.

So just an hour ago I polished off a bowl of Whole 365 plain whole milk yogurt with Arrowhead Mills organic Kamut Flakes cereal and some more of my trail mix. mmm, mmm, good. I kept “breakfast” light since it’s already lunch time.

Aug 7th - bfast

And speaking of Arrowhead Mills, I got a GIANT jar of their organic Valencia peanut butter on sale yesterday at Whole Foods for $4.00. I really had no real need for PB at the office, but I couldn’t pass up that price on such a big jar. I also bought a bundle of bananas, a half loaf of Rudolph’s Rye yeast free bread, Applegate Farms roast turkey, the yogurt, a block of Muenster cheese for only $1.95, and two boxes of bars: Larabars in Tropical Fruit Tart (one of the three new flavors!!! The box was so pretty, I couldn’t pass it up) and Renew Life’s Organic Fiber Bars in Cranberry, which I’ve never had but am PSYCHED to try out. I’m going to split them with Steph – so I’ll keep 8 of the Larabars and 9 of the Fiber Bars at my office, which should last me 2 work weeks at least. And I definitely did not pay the $53.82 price tag on Renew Life’s website. I got my box of 18 bars for about $34.00, which is a little on the pricey side, but I’ll try it out.

Aug 7th - bars

(Blurry BBerry pic. Check out that hot cubicle lighting!)

On the supplement tip, I picked up a new bottle of colloidal silver, which I take once a day, and Nature’s Way Sambucus, which I also take once a day and has done wonders for my immune system. I used to get colds every three weeks on the dot, and silver and elderberry have been huge helpers in keeping my immune system charged up against bugs and viruses.

naturesway_sambucus

All in all, not bad for a quick lunch break trip.

I budget out my grocery money as part of my Total Money Makeover, so as soon as I get a chance I’m going to start adding that into my daily updates. Right now I’m in a bit of a rush.

BUT check out this lunch my coworker just bought me (in exchange for advice on keeping bed bugs away)! I got a mixed greens salad with artichoke, beets, kidney beans, carrots, tomato,  grilled chicken, and olive oil/salt/pepper for dressing with a piece of Focaccia on the side (I’m not supposed to eat yeast products, so thinking this over) and of course a bag of Lay’s potato chips. Confession: I eat a bag of chips at least once every day. It’s my extreme vice. Lay’s are not usually something I go for, but when in a pinch… 🙂

Aug 7 - lunch

Also, I got my blood tests back yesterday, and everything looked great. I basically had them run a basic chemical profile and check my liver and kidneys while I was at it since I’m on so many meds for my Lyme treatment. I actually *really* don’t like getting my blood drawn, but the past few years have taught me to take a project manager approach to my health, so I like to check things out at least twice a year as I get better and make sure I’m running nice and smoothly. Having to learn all of this stuff about my body and medicine has been really empowering even if I still have a lot to learn.

Oh, and before I go, I updated my About Me page last night. Just a little more info about me. More coming soon on my Lyme and TMM pages!

xo,
Kim

Grateful for: Fridays! Free lunch! Physical therapy. And another healthy, happy day. Thank you, God!

Link of the Day: How to Stretch Your Food Budget [CNN.com]

