After way too many revisions, I think my About Me page is ready. Whew.

More coming…

Until then, a couple pics of one of my fave dinners this week… Trader Joe’s Jalepeno Lime Chicken Burgers (from the frozen section) on French Meadow yeast free bread with romaine from the food Coop, Alexia sweet potato french fries (my fave), fried zucchini with canola oil, salt, pepper, and marjoram, and my homemade dipping sauce – Brown Cow plain yogurt seasoned with basil, thyme, and pepper.

Aug 18 - dinner

Those who know me will attest that I am a burger addict, and this was one of my fave meals in a while. Super delicious and super filling but super healthy still. Mmm. The dipping sauce really was the cherry on top of the whole thing. I haven’t had a chance to make a Whole Foods run yet this week, so I’ve been eating Brown Cow’s plain yogurt instead, and I have to say it’s not a bad substitute. A little heavier than the Whole 365 brand, but not too shabby with a little stevia mixed in. And I like that their products are made with no artificial growth hormones.

Aug 19 - brown cow

The delicious yogurt dipping sauce, which I used not only for my sweet potato fries, but on my jalapeno chicken burger and zucchini as well:

Aug 18 - yogurt sauce
Hey, when you have a good thing…
And of course I made enough for lunch the next day.

Aug 19 - lunch
And, since I’m all about getting my money right while eating nothing but the finest, let’s break down just how much a meal like this costs to make.

The Breakdown

Where I Got it: Trader Joes, Flatbush Food Coop, Whole Foods

What it Cost:

  • Jalapeno Lime Chicken Burgers $3.49 for 4 (Trader Joes)
  • Zucchini $2.63 for 2 (Trader Joes)
  • Alexia Sweet Potato Fries $3.59 each x 2 bags = $7.18 (Flatbush Food Coop)
  • Brown Cow Yogurt $1.25 (Flatbush Food Coop)
  • Foxy Organics Romaine Lettuce $3.99 a bag / 6 meals = $.67 a meal (Flatbush Food Coop)
  • French Meadow Bread about $5.00 / about 12 pieces = $1.67 for 2 sandwiches  (Whole Foods)
  • pepper, basil, thyme – already had

Grand Total:  $16.89

How Many It Served: Two dinners + two lunches at a total of $4.22 a meal. MUCH cheaper than ordering in and much cheaper than buying lunch out.

What Was Left Over: I definitely did not leave much room for leftovers here beyond the two lunches I packed for me and Steph the next day. This was just too good not to eat up right then and there. But out of all the items listed above, the romaine made about 6 large salads/sandwich toppers and the French Meadow bread lasts for about 6 sandwiches plus the occasional french toast. Not too shabby. I’d do it all again if I could 😉

