Hi team,

Today is an awesome day because not only did I wake up feeling MUCH better than I’ve felt all week, but it’s also the start of my staycation! My friend Lucy gets in from SF at 3:30, and I took off the next two days for a long weekend of friends, b-day celebrations, and relaxation.

Last night I had the best Nicoise Salad in the world, and I can’t wait to show you all pics of my first time making it. Delish. And as I type this, I’m eating a breakfast I’ve been looking forward to all week: overnight oats!  I just found out that I can eat oat bran as part of my yeast-free diet, and I immediately thought of all the amazing things Heather at Heather Eats Almond Butter does with oats. So after reading about them for months, I decided to start my vacation off with my very first bowl of overnight oats. Mmm.

Aug 27 - the real deal

I made mine by soaking 1 cup of Bob’s Red Mill oat bran in 1 cup of Almond Breeze almond milk in a tupperware container overnight in the fridge. Then this morning I added a healthy squeeze of agave nectar, a couple spoon fulls of Santa Cruz organic crunchy peanut butter, a splash of almond milk, and a shake of Koala Crisp.

It’s everything the blogosphere made it out to be ;). The peanut butter gives it a nice crunch and the koala crisp kind of melted in and made it nice and sweet like I like for breakfast. This will probably be my favorite alternative to cold cereal in the morning, especially with so many different ways to play with it.

I had a glass of R.W. Knudsen Just Cranberry juice on the side, sweetened with a packet of Now Stevia because this stuff is BITTER without it. But cranberries are one of the few fruits I can eat as much as I want of because they’re low in sugar and high in antioxidants. And I’m telling myself that this juice is helping me detox all the herxing away in time for our b-day lunch on Saturday (Steph and I are turning 27 on Tuesday!).

Aug 27 - oats

I’m going to use the first half of today to get stuff done around the apartment, so that we can be fully settled in by mid September. And then tonight I’m meeting the book club Steph and I lead for a free movie in the park! I love all the free movies that New York shows in the summer, but so far I have not made it to a single one this year. So tonight we’ll be seeing Edward Scissorhands in Brooklyn Bridge Park, with a beautiful view of the Brooklyn Bridge and the Manhattan skyline! DUMBO is one of my fave, fave, fave nabes in all of NYC because of it’s beautiful views and the yummy food… which means tonight I’ll be getting dinner at RICE and breaking my no-sugar, no-yeast dietary restrictions for a slice of pie at Bubby’s (hey, it IS my birthday week) ;).

Right now it’s a cool 70 something degrees outside, perfect for open windows and ceiling fans. Puma’s hanging out on the fire escape watching the garden and the kids in the pool:

Aug 27 - pum a lum

