jersey shore header

Hi all. I can’t believe summer is almost officially over. I finally have some pics to share with all of you from my “daycation” to the Jersey Shore on August 15th. I haven’t had a legitimate vacation in three years, so this was a much needed escape from the day-to-day in the city.

I started the day by waking up early, picking up the latest issue of Women’s Health Magazine and grabbing the Q train to Herald Square, where Steph and I picked up the PATH train to Hoboken, NJ. I ate a Larabar when I woke up but by the time we got to Jersey I was starving again. So Steph and I each got a goat cheese, spinach, and tomato omelet at a deli by the PATH station before meeting our friend Jerry for the two hour drive down to Belmar Beach.

This was my first time visiting Belmar, and I was instantly in love with all of the beautiful old seaside Victorian houses leading up the beach. I’ve been trying to talk the fam into a family reunion on the Jersey Shore, and this only solidified that goal.

Steph played photographer while we strolled to the shore, set up, and took cheesey Jersey Shore themed pictures.

strolling seaside

the album cover

Then we laid out, snacked on Renew Life’s Fiber Bars and kiwis and relaxed in the sun.

jersey girls

beach bums
Can I admit that after losing so much weight with the Lyme, I’m kind of proud of that little pudge in my tummy? The next step is of course to make sure that as I’m gaining my weight back, I do it right. Which means, I need to step my stretching and toning game up asap.

The water was surprisingly warm, so we spent a full hour playing in the waves which was an awesome work out in and of itself.

After that, Steph and I took a lunch break for goat cheese, walnut, and cranberry salads with mixed berry smoothies from a local deli by the beach. And once the pros started heading home for dinner, I got up the guts to try my hand at volleyball. It’s been at least 12 years since my “net sports” class Freshman year of high school, so I was more than a little rusty. But after a couple tries, I got the basics down and was at least able to make it look like I knew what I was doing ;).

can i do it

volleyball crew

(I love this picture of Steph looking all “I am woman, hear me roar” after she just hit the ball.)

hear her roar
We stayed at the beach until dark and then headed to nearby Sea Girt, NJ for dinner at Parkerhouse‘s summertime Porch Bar, complete with lobster, shrimp, clams, and more.

three of a kind
lobster dinner
I won’t even begin to tell you how incredibly affordable all of this was compared to Manhattan prices. If the weather holds up, I’ll be heading back to the shore for one last “daycation” this Saturday before the beach closes for the year. We’ll be trying out a different beach, but a Parkerhouse dinner is guaranteed to happen afterwards. This time, I promise I’ll get pics up a little sooner.

Hope you all had a great day.

xo,
kim

Grateful for: Long weekends just around the corner!

