“But the Holy Spirit produces this kind of fruit in our lives: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control. There is no law against these things!” [New Living Translation]

This verse popped into my head this morning on my way to work, specifically the virtues peace and faithfulness. What a nice reminder that God wants us to be at peace. He doesn’t want us to be stressed out.

I’ve also been turning over the bit about self-control and have decided the way for me to experience peace at the office is to exercise more self-control over how my day goes. In an industry that thrives on chaos and urgency, any sense of control can seem nearly impossible. But starting on Tuesday, I’m going to begin each day with a clear plan and do my best to maintain control of it, even if that means ignoring some of the dozens of workplace firedrills brought to my attention throughout the day. Sometimes a girl’s just gotta say no.

xo,
kim

